2017 Awards for Excellence

Outstanding students commended with awards 

The 2017 Graduate Exhibition (9 – 22 December) at Adelaide Central School of Art was opened on
Saturday 9 December 2017 by Dr Barbara Bolt, Professor of Contemporary Arts and Culture and Associate Dean Research at the Victorian College of the Arts. It saw over 600 people in attendance.

Seven graduates from the Bachelor of Visual Art [Honours] and Bachelor of Visual Art degree courses were named as recipients of eight awards. These awards acknowledged their outstanding achievements across the 2017 academic year and also their works presented in the 2017 Graduate Exhibition. Recipients included:

  • Major Travel Award: 
    Maxwell Callaghan and Sonara Krix

  • Lee Family Award: 
    Alycia Bennett

  • James Martin Award:
    Kate O'Boyle
  • Helen Mitchell Award (inaugural): 
    Jasmine Crisp

  • Board of Governors and Guildhouse Award:
    Alycia Bennett

  • NAVA Ignition Award: 
    Craig Glasson

  • Adelaide Central School of Art and Artlink Magazine Art History Award: 
    Sarah Campbell

  • FELTspace SALA Festival 2017 Exhibition Award: 
    Kate O'Boyle

The award recipients were decided through a combination of students’ final grades and a rigorous selection process led by CEO Ingrid Kellenbach and Professor Bolt. The FELTspace award was selected by the Directors of the popular Adelaide artist-run-initiative.

“Among our graduates are some of Australia’s most promising emerging artists. It was challenging to narrow down our selections as the work in the exhibition is of an exceptionally high standard,” says Kellenbach. “In my opinion, all of our graduates are deserving of an award.”

The Port Art Supplies Encouragement Awards were also announced at the opening. These awards acknowledged Level 1 and Level 2 students who demonstrated great commitment to their studies in 2017. The following students received vouchers from Port Art Supplies to purchase materials to support their studies in 2018: Miriam Barker-Lanzi, Ashley Barnard, Rita Bellati, Georgia Button, ChiChi Grasby, Alex Hume, Aspacia Lukac, Tori Mansfield, Henry Wolff, Cissy Zhang.

View the Media Release.


The 2017 Awards for Excellence are generously supported by:

Adelaide Central School of Art thanks the above award supporters, the Lee family, the Martin family, David Demasi, and Alan Young for their generous support of the Awards for Excellence.

image: 2017 Awards for Excellence recipients Jasmine Crisp, ALycia Bennett, Sonara Krix, Maxwell Callaghan and Craig Glasson