2016 Awards for Excellence

Recipients were announced at the opening of 'Sensory Narratives' by Rachel Kent, MCA Sydney

Sensory Narratives, the 2016 Graduate Exhibition at Adelaide Central School of Art, was opened on Saturday
3 December 2016 by the Minister for Disabilities, Minister for Mental Health and Substance Abuse, The Hon. Leesa Vlahos MP, and saw over 700 people in attendance – the largest opening event in the School’s history.

Nine graduates from the Bachelor of Visual Art [Honours] and Bachelor of Visual Art degree courses were named as recipients of eight awards that acknowledged their outstanding achievements across the 2016 academic year, and also their final works presented in Sensory Narratives. The recipients included:

  • Major Travel Award (inaugural): 
    Alycia Bennett, Cariad Kitchener and Bernadette Klavins

  • Board of Governors Award
    Maxwell Callaghan

  • James Martin Award
    Maxwell Callaghan

  • Tracey Whiting Award
    Christopher Houghton

  • NAVA Ignition Award
    Cailtin Bowe

  • Adelaide Central School of Art and Artlink Magazine Art History Award
    Lynette Trowbridge

  • FELTspace SALA Festival 2017 Exhibition Award (inaugural): 
    Kelly Reynolds

  • praxisARTSPACE Residency Award (inaugural): 
    Ebony Rodda

The recipients were decided through a rigorous selection process led by CEO Ingrid Kellenbach and visiting guest judge, Rachel Kent, Chief Curator of Contemporary Art at the Museum of Contemporary Art, Sydney. Rachel Kent also highly commended Bachelor of Visual Art graduates Cynthia Schwertsik, Ryan Waters and Lau Kai Yang on their final bodies of work.

Introduced for the first time this year, the Port Art Supplies Encouragement Awards acknowledged Level 1 and Level 2 students who demonstrated great commitment to their studies in 2016. The following students received vouchers from Port Art Supplies to purchase materials to support their studies in 2017: Jennifer Birrell, Rae Chapple, Nicole Clift, John Defty, Chelsea Farquhar, Brooke Harris, Margie Hookway, Lisa Savchuk, Inneke Taalman and Darlia Tucker.

View the Media Release.


The 2016 Awards for Excellence are generously supported by:

Adelaide Central School of Art thanks the above award supporters, members of the Martin family,
David Demasi, Tracey Whiting and Alan Young for their generous support of the Awards for Excellence.

image: Port Art Supplies Encouragement Award recipients with award donors Graham and Judy Rees.