2016 Scholarships Announced

We congratulate the recipients of our Scholarships and Study Support Grants

Grace Marlow, Jenny Hurley, Ingrid Kellenbach and Bernadette Klavins. Photos by James Edwards.

Shaye Duong, Jess Santy, Maha Naito, Miriam Barker-Lanzi and Yolande Heaney.

Adelaide Central School of Art is pleased to announce that Grace Marlow of Lobethal is the recipient of the 2016 Bachelor of Visual Art (Honours) Scholarship. Supported by the Arkaba Hotel Commission, the $7,500 Scholarship will provide support for the artist in her final year of study.

“I'm so pleased to have received this scholarship. Honours is an important time to have the security of an institution to allow freedom to explore and make mistakes,” said Ms. Marlow, 21. “The financial assistance is invaluable and I look forward to returning to the supportive environment of the School.”

The Scholarship adds to an impressive list of recent accolades for Ms. Marlow, who completed her BVA in 2015 at the School with two academic awards - the inaugural Adelaide Central School of Art and Artlink Magazine Art History Award and also the NAVA Ignition Award for a high achieving student in Professional Practice. She has also been selected to exhibit in the Helpmann Academy Graduate Exhibition from 12 February – 6 March 2016.

Adelaide Central School of Art and the Arkaba Hotel Commission were also delighted to be able to offer an additional Study Support Grant of $2500 for a Bachelor of Visual Art (Honours) student in 2016, which was awarded to Bernadette Klavins, 22, of Parkside.

“The selection process was incredibly competitive with so many commendable applicants to consider,” said Ingrid Kellenbach, CEO Adelaide Central School of Art. “It was a difficult decision for the committee but that’s a wonderful problem to have. Grace and Bernadette were particularly outstanding and are worthy recipients.”

The School is also delighted to announce the recipients of their inaugural School Leaver Scholarships of $5,000 each: Miriam Barker-Lanzi of St. Peters, Pembroke School graduate; Shaye Duong of Prospect, Eynesbury Senior College graduate; Jess Santy of Clarendon, Urrbrae Agricultural High School graduate. The students, who all finished high-school within the last three years, will each commence their Bachelor of Visual Art on 1 February 2016.

With such a strong cohort of School Leaver applicants, the selection panel found it challenging to narrow the field. As a result, an additional two School Leaver Study Support Grants of $1,500 were awarded to Yolande Heaney of Mitcham, Eynesbury Senior College graduate and Maha Naito of Seacombe Gardens, Westminster School graduate. The School Leaver Scholarships and Study Support Grants will provide financial assistance towards students’ study-related expenses.

“We are thrilled to have so many new, enthusiastic students at the School,” said Ms. Kellenbach. “Exciting chapters are ahead for the visual arts in Adelaide with these fresh faces commencing their studies with us. We look forward to their progress with keen interest.”

Beth Shimmin, Marketing and Development Executive
beth.shimmin(at)acsa.sa.edu.au or 0401 975 546